Who We Are

In the early 1940’s a small group of allergists from the Southeastern United States met to found an educational organization with the purpose of discussing the latest advances in allergy and immunology. The organization was also founded to provide a forum for allergy fellows-in-training to present their research work. This venue was not only enlightening to the physicians in practice, but also served to provide fellows-in-training experience in presentation skills.

The status of Southeastern Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society members may be either active or emeritus. The states included in the Southeastern Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society are the following: Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, West Virginia and Louisiana.

The Southeastern Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of seven (7) officers. The Board of Directors is responsible to the Membership. The organization is incorporated in the State of Kentucky and is a tax exempt professional educational association. There is an annual educational meeting which is held in late September or early October. The location of the meeting rotates throughout the Southeastern Region. There is no registration fee for members attending the educational meeting.

Membership is obtained through application which may be obtained from the secretary-treasurer of the organization. The application requires the recommendation of two active members of the Southeastern Allergy, Asthma and Immunology Society.