For more than 70 years, the SEAAI Society has existed as an educational, nonprofit organization with the purpose of discussing the latest advances in allergy and immunology. The organization was also founded to provide a forum for allergy fellows-in-training to present their research work. This venue was not only enlightening to the physicians in practice, but also served to provide fellows-in-training experience in presentation skills.

Although the world of healthcare has changed over the past 70 years, the educational excellence the SEAAIS has fostered to practicing physicians and allergy/immunology fellows has remained constant.  During the history of the society, there have been many members who have furthered the mission of the society and have left a legacy to our growing membership.

When the SEAAIS board met in 2017, a motion was made to establish an endowed lecture series as a way to not only honor members for their service to the society, but to also ensure their legacy and passion for the SEAAI society continues.  The SEAAIS board members are pleased to announce the establishment of two endowed lecture series: the Chester T. Stafford, MD endowed lecture series and the John A. Yarbrough, MD endowed lecture series.

This year, the board is requesting additional contribution from the membership to establish the endowed lecture series.  Your tax-deductible donation will be used for the sole purpose of these endowments.

Donate Today

Stafford Endowment

The Chester T. Stafford endowed lecture series is established for allergy/immunology fellow travel grants, in memory of Dr. Stafford’s unwavering support of allergy/immunology fellows.  In an excerpt from Dr. Stafford’s autobiography on being a good role model, Dr. Stafford writes:

For 22 years I had the privilege to work with some of the finest young physicians in the world.  I was on the faculty of the Allergy-Immunology Section in the Departments of Medicine and Pediatrics at the Medical College of Georgia.  During my tenure we trained 36 Allergy-Immunology Fellows.  They are now practicing our specialty in all regions of the United States and far-flung corners of the world.  They have all remained trusted friends and colleagues.

Yarbrough Endowment

The John A. Yarbrough endowed lecture series is established in memory of Dr. Yarbrough and his dedication to the mission of the society.  Each year the President-Elect selects speakers and program content based from a needs assessment by the membership.  It is the intent of this endowed lecture series that a speaker will be chosen to present an area of Dr. Yarbrough’s educational interest.  All funds from this endowment will be used to cover this chosen speaker’s travel costs and honorarium.